Posted by: eeb | June 4, 2010

weekend adventures

This post is long overdue, but I keep thinking I’ll have plenty of time to write after class, in the evening, tomorrow, etc. But here it is!

While everyone in the States celebrated Memorial Day, we enjoyed our own 3-day weekend here in Peru. We didn’t have class on Friday, so a group of us went horseback riding near the Sacsayhuaman ruins (which I read about in my DK Guidebook—thanks Jeanne and Joe!), which are Incan ruins about a mile away from the city of Cusco. Cusco was originally designed to be in the shape of a puma, with the city as the puma’s body and Sacsayhuaman as its head and teeth. We rode for about 45 minutes or so, and then got to walk around the area near the ruins for a little bit while the horses grazed. Although I’m glad to be staying in the city, it was a nice change of pace to be in the country–so much open space!

rocks, and a view

me, Beth, and Elizabeth

On Saturday, a group of about 12 of us set out for white-water rafting. It was a blast! We drove about 2 hours away from Cusco, and then rafted down the Urabamba River. On our way out to the starting point, our Peruvian guide asked us all where we were all from, and when I told him I am from West Virginia he said he spent two weeks rafting in West Virginia and it was the best and craziest rafting of his life—all roads really do lead to WV! Rafting was fun, and our guide, Ernesto, kept us all laughing with his English. Every time we approached a rapid he would yell to us, “Security your feet!” We rafted for about 2 hours through Peruvian countryside, and got out of our rafts along the side of the river and the rafting company had lunch ready for us. We had arroz con pollo, and fresh cucumbers, tomatoes, and avocados. It was absolutely delicious, and was the perfect way to end our day trip.

me, SJ, Beth, Emily, and our guide, Ernesto

Sunday was yet another busy day—we went to a Peruvian soccer match! I honestly am not sure who played and the match wasn’t especially thrilling because it ended with no score but it was a fun atmosphere. All of the fans were screaming, even the little kids. The home team must have had at least 20 shots on goal in the second half, but a little boy behind us kept screaming “¡Tu puedes!” which means, “you can!”

partido de futbol

So far this week I have been reading for class, studying for our final, which is this weekend, and going to the orphanage. Yesterday was Corpus Christi, which is a huge Catholic holiday, and in Cusco they celebrate by marching saints around the Plaza de Armas. I’ll post about it this weekend when I need a study break!

Responses

  1. I think Morgantown was designed in the shape of a BP’s oil spill, sort of sprawling up and down the banks of the Monongahela River.

  2. Have you gone horse riding before? Everything you do sounds so enjoyable. Big stadium; lots of empty seats? If we don’t hear from you before you final, I hope it goes well!

  3. How did finals go – your adventures are education enough – I bet they went swimming (which I hope you didn’t do on the white water rafting trip).

  4. Uncle Brent’s comments are always so upbeat and helpful – he’s been that way all his life. That’s one of the reasons I love him so. Me, I’m not sure Morgantown was designed at all – just like so many things, including BP’s oil spill.

    Charleston, by contrast, was cleverly designed to resemble a dumbbell – the weights of downtown and the capitol, held together by the bar of the East End. Or maybe the dumbbells in the Legislature. Who knows…?

  5. So I just sent in my comment, my first EVER comment on a blog, and the site tells me my comment is “awaiting moderation”. Yeesh – may be a long wait. XO – Uncle Ben


Leave a Reply

Categories

